Startup Law

Most successful startups begin with a great idea, one that can disrupt the markets and change the world. Speaking with seasoned entrepreneurs and searching the internet can help entrepreneurs decide where to turn when they need to change their business plan or arrange for funding; however, it’s not as simple to find what startups need to know to satisfy their legal obligations. Startups often face costly and lengthy problems that could have been avoided if certain legal issues were considered prior to starting their operations.

Any startup interested in learning how to navigate around common pitfalls and to position their startup for long-term success should attend Startup Toronto’s Law for Startups Workshop – Top 10 Legal Issues for Startups.

During the workshop, you will learn, among others, what is the appropriate business structure for your startup, whether your company needs a founders agreement, how to protect your intellectual property rights and how startups can protect themselves from employment related law suits.

In this session hosted by The Startup Coach (http://torontostarts.com/startup-coach/) and small business mentor Craig Major, (http://startupcoach.ca) Our legal mentors will lead a discussion on Startup Law including IP and incorporating, with Q&A and specific advice and mentorship that applies to you and your idea or company.

Mentors

Alex Koch, founder of Insight Legal (http://insightlawyers.com/), a law firm specializing in business law for startups

GET THE PODCASTS
The Cryptocurrency Podcast – https://torontostarts.com/the-cryptocurrency-podcast/

Startup Talk Toronto's Startup Podcast – https://torontostarts.com/startup-talk-toronto-startup-podcast/

BROUGHT TO YOU BY:

Startup Talk Toronto's Startup Podcast – https://torontostarts.com/startup-talk-toronto-startup-podcast/

TorontoStarts Where Toronto Starts (http://torontostarts.com/) – Toronto's Most Active Startup Community

Startup Launch 8 Week Accelerator Program (http://torontostarts.com/startuplaunch/) – Now taking applicants for January Cohort

Startup Social Open Pitch Open Bar Open Minds (http://torontostarts.com/startup-social/) (formerly Startup Drinks)

The Cryptocurrency Podcast – https://torontostarts.com/the-cryptocurrency-podcast/

Startup Pitch – Toronto's Premiere Quarterly Startup Pitch event (http://torontostarts.com/startuppitch/)

Startup Coach – Workshops and One on One Startup Coaching with The Startup Coach (http://torontostarts.com/startup-coach/)

Workhaus – Coworking Space, Services, an Awesome Community & More (https://workhaus.ca/)

Back to all